HD View and Microsoft ICE – Generating and viewing high resolution Panoramas

HD View is essentially an image viewer which helps in viewing high resolution images\very large images. Microsoft ICE is a software which can be used to stich multiple images to generate a very large panorama of the degree of gigapixels. Since you can have panorama of this degree hence you can achieve a full 360 degree view of subject.

This is a Microsoft Research project which uses capabilities of your graphics hardware to provide image smoothing and high level zooming to get a 3D illusion. HD View is available as activeX browser plugin for Firefox and IE. Having good graphics card helps in getting the full power of HD view. I tried installing it on my system where I didn’t had very good graphics card still I was able to get a real good view of panoramas. You need to have Direct3D installed (which gets installed as part of DirectX). You can get more details about HD View from http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/redmond/groups/ivm/hdview/hdgigapixel.htm and http://hdview.spaces.live.com/.

Here is a view of zoom details from http://www.yosemite-17-gigapixels.com

hd view

hd view

HD for Silverlight is also available on codeplex which is a Silverlight application to show HD View. You can download it from http://www.codeplex.com/HDViewSL. I tried the cool commandline tool hdmake to generate a high quality image. I downloaded Photoshop plugin of HD View and currently trying my hands on it. I will update about it in another post once I get something subtantial out of it.

But overall it looked very pomising and encouraging to me to see my panoramas with HD view with great details.

– Bye for now.

3 Responses to HD View and Microsoft ICE – Generating and viewing high resolution Panoramas

  1. Mohd Danish says:

    This is good buddy

  2. silver wardrobe…

    […]HD View and Microsoft ICE – Generating and viewing high resolution Panoramas « Sushantp’s Weblog[…]…

Leave a Reply

Who am I what am I doing?

Who am I what am I doing?

